June 5  @ 5:30: Diane C. McPhail Book Signing 



















Diane McPhail, author of “The Abolitionists Daughter” will be at The Historic Lowry House signing copies of her new book.
This event is free and open to the public.
The Snail on the Wall will offer books at the event OR you can preorder.
Website: https://www.snailonthewall.com/event/diane-mcphail-book-signing-abolitionists-daughter

The Abolitionist’s Daughter, a vividly rendered, culturally important debut novel by Diane C. McPhail, is set in Mississippi during the violent turmoil leading up to and just after the Civil War. The Abolitionist’s Daughter illuminates a corner of Southern history that’s little-known and rarely glimpsed: the experiences and struggles of those openly opposed to slavery in a time and place when the freeing of slaves was illegal. At the novel’s heart are three extraordinary women who refuse to compromise what they know to be right, as they negotiate the devastations of war, betrayal, and a world depleted by the conflict of men: Emily, the daughter of an abolitionist; Ginny, a slave who was illegally educated alongside Emily; and Adeline, the mother of Emily’s husband.

The historical inspiration for The Abolitionist’s Daughter is nearly as astonishing as the novel itself. In part, it is based on a legendary feud between two families – the Edwards and the Greys – in Webster County, Mississippi. Born in Jackson and raised on the Mississippi Delta, Diane McPhail grew up hearing stories about the violent clash that would become the basis for her novel. But it wasn’t until the author was in her 40s that she learned about the life of her great-grandmother, Mary Ellen Edwards Gray Nelson, and her much more personal connection to this history. Born in 1840, she was a woman in Webster County, Mississippi who stood up for what was right in the face of devastating loss, and her legacy is woven into the protagonist of The Abolitionist’s Daughter.
In the tradition of Cold Mountain, The Abolitionist’s Daughter eschews stereotypes of the Civil War South, instead weaving an intricate and unforgettable story of survival, loyalty, hope, and redemption.

About the author:
Diane C. McPhail is an artist, writer, and minister. A graduate of Duke Writers, University of Iowa Distance, and the Yale Writers' Conference, she is a member of NC Writers Network and the Historical Novel Society. The Abolitionist’s Daughter is McPhail’s major debut novel. She lives in Highlands, North Carolina with her husband and dog.



June 7-9, 14-16, 21-23

               Death of the Rook:  See "Evil Cheez Productions" page for information and dates/times

Sunday, July 7 @ 2:30

In the summer of 1875, Mary Todd Lincoln  resides in an insane asylum, sent there by her only living son. At this point in her life, Mary has lost three sons and her beloved husband, President  Lincoln. Her progressive friend Myra Bradwell (America's first woman Lawyer) arrives to help Mary gain her release by exposing the injustices of her trial. But Myra's motives and Mary's sanity are both up for debate, as they grapple with their pasts and their perception of freedom and womanhood.

June 28-30, July 5-7: Mary and Maya Play                    

Saturday, June 29 @ 7:30
Saturday, July 6 @ 7:30

Upcoming Events

Friday, July 5 @ 7:30

      Copyright © The Historic Lowry House. All rights reserved. 

Sunday, June 30 @ 2:30
Friday, June 28 @ 7:30

​​The Historic Lowry House

SATURDAY, JULY 26 @ 7:30 pm 

           "ALL-AMERICAN" Mystery Dinner Theatre             

           Seating begins @ 7:00 pm


            ...AND FOR THE 1st TIME EVER! 

    Audience members who choose to participate will be the performers!

~You will receive your part and dialogue early so as to prepare your character. Don't forget, you'll also need to dress the part~


IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO BE A PARTICIPANT IN OUR NEW STYLE OF MYSTERY THEATRE, PLEASE CONTACT US ASAP AND PURCHASE TICKETS EARLY!


Please Note: There will be a "director" to facilitate the production and 1 dress rehearsal! 

Tickets on sale soon!

FOR QUESTIONS, PLEASE CALL 256-489-9200 OR EMAIL THELOWRYHOUSE@KNOLOGY.NET